Skip to content

Things Overheard on a Gulf to Peshawar Flight

December 30, 2012

If you have ever taken a flight from the Gulf states to Peshawar, you have no doubt encountered a distinct group of Pukhtun men on that flight.  The plane is mostly full of Pukhtun workers who are going home to see their families.  

First off, I have immense respect for these people.  They leave their families behind, work long hours in horrid conditions, and are still able to laugh at life. They earn an honest living, which is more than I can say for many of the “enlightened” people in this world. Most of these men are uneducated, and it gives them an endearing simplicity that is impossible to find in the rest of the world. 

The following is a collection of things said during my flights from the Gulf states to Peshawar over the years, with some additions from friends and family.  Many of these things are said by these people for comical effect, while some are borne out of naivety. 

All of these are obviously funnier in Pushto, but I’m providing a translation anyway.  

1) Upon settling down in the plane, “alaka, jaaz kho kha garam de kha.. jorhey Pekhawar key yukhni da”  (dude, the plane is real warm, seems like it’s cold in Peshawar)

2) The air-hostess was giving out headphones in little blue pouches, and this conversation ensued.

    Guy 1: Alaka da sa di? (What is that?)

    Guy 2: Daa jorhey da zrha kharaabeydo golaye dee (Seems like it’s anti-nausea        medication)

3) During turbulence on the plane.  “walaka, da sa kayee, jorhey jaaz calendar chalayee khaa”  (dude, whatsup with that? I think the conductor is piloting the plane).

4) Dala maal parey sarey ey keynoley yum, tol grhabeygam (dammit, I’m sitting by the wing, and the ride is too bumpy)

5) Dimaagh mey crash de.. baikhee kaar na kayee, raaka yo naswaaro choondaye. (my brain has crashed completely, hand me over some naswaar)..  This was followed by a packet of naswaar distributed throughout the plane. 

6) Some guy got up to go to the bathroom, but was walking hands-in-pockets, with a bounce in his step.. “oh khair eee.. ogarza.. ogarza warta de jaaz key naigh naigh”  (go on, go on and walk all over this plane)

7) Guy 1: Da sheesha laande ka, zrha mey kharaap de (can you roll the plane’s window down please, I’m nauseated)

Guy 2: wrak sha botala laakho, daa sa da baarhey bus de che sheesha ba ey lande keygi? da siraf pilot laande koley shee (dude, this isnt some local bus that you can just roll the window down in, only the pilot can do it).  

8) Upon landing in Peshawar while it was raining outside. 

  Guy 1: alaka, jorhey bahar kho baraan de kha (dude, it seems like it’s raining outside)

  Guy 2: na marha, baraan na de, da nawey maadal taarkol dee, da da shpey chamak wakhee (no, it isn’t raining, this is just the new charcoal that shimmers at night).

9) I almost always have to fill out Disembarkation Forms for the people around me.  The most common theme among them.  

 a) First name: Ziaullah.  Last name: Nothing. So I have to improvise and put First name Zia/Shams/Hamid, Last name: Ullah/Urrehman.

10) This happened to a friend.  He was sitting next to a dude wearing two watches on the same wrist:

Friend: Kaka, da waley? da dwa garhaye sa ta? (Why are you wearing two watches?)

Guy:  Da yo key da Pakistan taime de, ba de taime mey kor wala telapoon kayee, o de baley key da Saudi Arab (One has the Pakistani time, that’s the time my wife uses to call me, and the other one has Saudi’s time).  

I would suggest you add your experiences in the comments, I’d love to hear about them. 

From → Archive

4 Comments
  1. Niala permalink

    Passenger says to female flight attendant during turbulence “aye Warkey, dey driver tha waya Che da jazz lig saam chaley” (hey girl, tell the driver (pilot) to drive the plane properly”

  2. Hassan permalink

    A Guy calls the air hostess and hands her over the cup of raita she just served and says, “Humara Ice Cream pigla hoa hai, isko badli karo.”

  3. Nido permalink

    This is hilarious!!

    One my way back home from Abu Dhabi, as soon as the plane hit runaway, all Pashtuns stood up and said, “Paasegayi wrora, Allllllaaah-o-Akbar” and the air hostess screamed, “Please, sit down!!! You’re not to stand up until you’re told.” She had been screaming at the top of her voice from the moment Pashtuns stepped in till they got out.
    We had Attiqa Odho on board from Psh to Abu Dhabi and poor thing had to change her seat cuz tol sattuna warpase war maat wo.

  4. Can’t stop laughing at the word “grhabeygam” and the part “sheesha siraf pilot laande koley shee” hahaha! I wish I had an experience to share, but the only time I saw such a crowd was on a flight from Karachi to Peshawar with my Mum. All they did was stare. Constantly stare.

Leave a comment

Converge

Converging towards The Source

Sana Farzand

My Parallel Universe

emphadiate

ˈem(p)-fə-dē-ˌāt • noun. • adjective. • verb. • me.

Insight

Life as I know it.

Sasti Masti

Taking back Lollywood - One blog at a time

SesapZai - Mom. Artist. Academic. And a little bit of everything else.

Like a flaming Phoenix I rise out of the dark ashes; I do not need to flaunt my wisdom, for my aura will influence only those who seek . . .